top of page

Lakshya Sen’s incredible record in 2022: From Viktor Axelsen to Lee Jii Zia, top shuttlers he

World Championships bronze medallist Lakshya Sen reached the final of the 2022 All England Open Badminton Championships after beating Malaysia`s Lee Zii Jia 21-13, 12-21, 21-19 in the semi-finals on Saturday.

Sen opened up an 11-7 lead at the interval in the first game in a battle between two top shuttlers. The Indian was solid and defended brilliantly Lee`s attack and took the opening game 21-13.

However, the Malaysian made a strong comeback and hit a string of sensational winners to claim the second game. In the decider, Lakshya Sen put up a phenomenal fight, didn`t give up and eventually won it 21-19.

With this win, Sen became the fifth Indian shuttler to reach the final of the All England Open Badminton Championships.

The 20-year-old from Almora, who had a great start to 2022 by winning the India Open and reaching the final of the German Open last week, had earlier got a walkover from his opponent world No 27 Lu Guang Zu of China in the quarter-finals.

The young Indian shuttler is in great form, having beaten world champion Loh Kean Yew and Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen in recent weeks.

Only two Indians — Prakash Padukone and Pullela Gopichand — have won the prestigious title.

This year Sen has been in terrific form. 

Here’s a list of all top shuttlers he has beaten this year:

 – 2021 Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen  – 2021 Olympic bronze medal winner Anthony Ginting  – 2021 World champion Loh Kean Yew  – 2021 World bronze medalist Anders Antonsen  – 2021 All England champion Lee Jii Zia

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page